Make your own free website on

Indy Racing League

Menards Infiniti Pro Series

Tribute to Art Pollard

Swede Savage

Mel Kenyon: King of the Midgets

Ebay consignments: Click for info

The BEST Indy forum online

Joe Leonard - 98 to 1

Free Guestbook from Bravenet
Free Guestbook from Bravenet
    Welcome to our home school project. We are Scotty and Angelica. We are home schooled in the 2nd and 3rd grades and are learning HTML. We are fourth generation Indianapolis 500 and Indy Car fans. We are constantly searching the Internet looking for racing car pictures to print out and color. Unfortunately they are few and far between, so our parents asked, "why not create your own?"

    Well.... here it is. Not only will you find pictures to print out and color, but also you might learn a bit of American History regarding "The Indianapolis 500 Mile Sweepstakes" which it was originally called.

    To use the site, simply click on a thumb nailed picture and it will open up the full size printable image. Then you can either "right mouse click print" or "click the print button on your browser"

    If you have a favorite Indy Car driver you would like to have a coloring page of, please send your request to us here.

    If you enjoy our site, please sign our guest book! We would love to hear from you.

    Happy coloring!

    - Scotty & Angelica

    Click to color

    Ray Harroun won the very first Indianapolis 500 Mile Sweepstakes on May 30, 1911 driving a Marmon Wasp. It was the first car to use a "rear view mirror." It took Ray almost 7 hours to complete the race at a speed of 74.602 mph.

    Click to color

    Bill Vukovich came out of of California's Midget circuit to become one of the greatest drivers to ever compete on the massive Indianapolis Motor Speedway.
    He won the race twice in a row in 1953 & 1954 and lost his life trying to become the only man to win it three times in succession in 1955. Beyond that, he won countless Midget races, barnstorming the country.
    Bill's son, Billy Vukovich Jr., raced at Indy in the 60's & 70's but was never able to win an Indianapolis 500.

    Click to color

    Graham Hill was a Rookie when he won the Indianapolis 500 in 1966. Graham was the second British driver in a row to win the 500. Jim Clark won in 1965. Graham Hill is the only man to have won the F1 Championship the Indy 500 and LeMans.

    Click to color

    In 1968 Art Pollard drove an STP Turbine powered Lotus for the legendary Andy Granatelli. Art Pollard was teamates with 1968 pole position winner Joe Leonard and 1966 Indy 500 winner Graham Hill. They all drove STP Lotus Turbines.

    Mario led a total of 116 laps and established 15 of 20 new records set during the 1969 Indy 500.

    Mario Andretti is one of the winningest drivers in Indy Car history, unfortunately, the Andretti name has only visited victory lane one time at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Mario Andretti has also won the Formula One World Championship and the Daytona 500. In 1969 Mario Andretti crashed his original STP Lotus and was forced to drive the back up machine which was an STP Hawk. Mario led a total of 116 laps and established 15 of 20 new records set during the 1969 Indy 500. It was also STP's first win in the Indy 500.

    Click to color

    David Earl "Swede" Savage was to be the next Great American Racer. Swede started racing as a child in San Bernardino, California in 1/4 midgets. He moved to motorcycle racing and stock cars, until Dan Gurney hired him to race for The All-American Racer Team. Swede raced in Can Am, Trans Am & Indy Cars. His childhood dream was to be able to atleast lead the Indy 500. In 1973 he did lead 12 laps of the 500, but suffered a terrible crash. Swede died of his injuries 33 days later. Here is our Dad's tribute to one of his childhood heroes.

    Click to color

    Al Unser Sr. became only the fourth driver in history to win the Indy 500 back-to-back in 1970 and 1971. Al Unser drove the Johnny Lightning Special both of those years. It took Helio Castroneves 31 years to become the next back-to-back winner. Nobody has ever won the Indy 500 three times in a row.

    Click to color

    In 1972 Indy car teams were experimenting with the newly allowed wings. The Vel's Parnelli Jones team formed a "Super Team" with drivers Joe Leonard, Mario Andretti & Al Unser Sr. Above is a picture of the 1972 Parnelli Prototype complete with dihedral wings and no rear wing. The original design did not work well and the dihedral wings were removed and a large rear wing added. The Parnelli chassis went on to win the 1972 USAC National Championship with Joe Leonard at the wheel.

    Click to color

    Anthony Joseph Foyt Jr. was the first driver to win the Indy 500 four times. A.J. Foyt won two Indy 500's in front engine roadsters and two in rear engine cars which were his own design called "Coyotes". A.J. Foyt runs an IRL team to this day!

    Eddie Cheever Jr. won the 1998 Indianapolis 500 driving as the owner of his own team

    Eddie Cheever Jr. won the 1998 Indianapolis 500 driving as the owner of his own team. The last time Eddie Cheever raced in the Indy 500 was in 2002 when he finished 5th. Eddie Cheever Jr. is currently the owner of Red Bull Cheever Racing and his cars are always a threat to win.

    Click to color

    Helio Castroneves came to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway for the first time in 2001 and won! As a rookie, Helio beat his Penske teammate Gil de Ferran by less than 2 seconds. In 2002 Helio won again and became the first back-to-back winner since Al Unser Sr. did it in 1970 & 1971. Nobody has ever won the Indy 500 three times in a row. When Helio returned for his history making three-peat attempt he started from the pole position but was beat to the finish line by his Penske teammate Gil de Ferran.

    Click to color

    Brad Pollard is the second cousin to the late Art Pollard. Brad will race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway for the first time in 2004 driving the XBOX Special #24 in the Freedom 100 for the IRL Menard's Infiniti Pro Series cars. Brad is on a mission to return the famous Pollard name back to the Indy 500.

    Click to color

    In 2004 Buddy Rice was the first driver to win the Indianapolis 500 with a Honda powered G-Force race car. His car is owned by 1986 Indy 500 winner Bobby Rahal and late night television host David Letterman.

This site dedicated to Art Pollard and Kids everywhere! Since May 12, 2004